About Us

Successful projects, in our minds, use limited resources wisely and create places that people will embrace and make their own.

Desmone Architects began in 1958 when Principal Charles L. “Luke” Desmone joined the firm of his uncle, John Desmone. We’ve grown from a small family-owned business to become one of Pittsburgh’s premier design firms. Our team of architecture and interior design professionals is lead by Luke Desmone, his son Chip Desmone, and Principals Eric Booth Thea Martin, and Travis Kreidler.

Our firm’s greatest strength is our dedication to service. We believe our role is to design for our clients’ needs, not our own. We listen intently to the needs and desires of our clients and help them to develop a project’s vision. Our extensive knowledge and skills allow us to transform that vision to reality.

At Desmone, we believe that our firm offers several advantages that are worthy of consideration. We are aware of the essential qualities that make a space efficient and welcoming. We are committed to solving difficult issues that may arise during a project. We are patient, reassuring and really listen to hear the needs and desires of our clients through a design process that is collaborative yet challenges accepted paradigms. Finally, we understand the importance of cost-conscious design.

Successful projects, in our minds, use limited resources wisely and create places that people will embrace and make their own.

internship

Project Approach

OUR APPROACH

Our firm’s greatest strength is our dedication to service. We believe our role is to design for our clients’ needs, not our own. We listen intently to the needs and desires of our clients and help them to develop a project’s vision. Our extensive knowledge and skills allow us to transform that vision to reality.

Projects that are completed on time and on budget depend upon careful planning, extensive analysis, skilled project management and open communication. We implement extensive planning and milestone creation through all phases to keep a project running smoothly.

DESIGN PHILOSOPHY

Our design solutions are modeled around the desired outcomes identified by our clients. We make decisions – with our clients – based on the best available information from credible research and evaluation of projects. Critical thinking is required to draw rational inferences about design from information that seldom fits a unique situation precisely.

We find that our work with the many community service, religious, commercial, educational organizations and individual clients we collaborate with opens us to the profound effects architecture can have on the spirit and development of those people for which it is designed.

TECHNOLOGY

Desmone Architects integrates conceptual, documentation, and visualization programs into single streamlined workflow using the latest versions of AutoDesk software, including AutoCAD, Revit and 3DS Max.

We also implement a centralized accounting, billing, customer relations management, project management, and project planning system to maximize our data processing efficiency. We continually improve upon our expertise with regular training and standards meetings.

Meet the Team

Our team consists of experienced architects, interior designers, marketing and business development professionals who collaborate to deliver complete implementation of ideas.

Leadership

Luke Desmone

Principal
ldesmone@desmone.com

Chip Desmone

Principal
cdesmone@desmone.com

Eric Booth

Principal
ebooth@desmone.com

Thea Martin

Principal
tmartin@desmone.com

Travis Kreidler

Principal
tkreidler@desmone.com

Brad Frankhouser

Principal
bfrankhouser@desmone.com

Jen Bee

Associate
jbee@desmone.com

Terry Oden

Associate
toden@desmone.com

NANCY POLICICCHIO

Associate
npolicicchio@desmone.com

Architects & Designers

Gerrod Winston

Senior Architect
gwinston@desmone.com

Joe Beerens

Senior Architect
jbeerens@desmone.com

David Hall

Senior Architect
dhall@desmone.com

Mary Kay Barrett

Senior Interior Designer
mbarrett@desmone.com

Rebecca Lowe

Architect
rlowe@desmone.com

Josh Frick

Architect
jfrick@desmone.com

Melissa Barnes

Senior Architect
mbarnes@desmone.com

Anthony Boyd

Senior CAD Operator
aboyd@desmone.com

Jeffrey Wessel

Designer
jwessel@desmone.com

Mark Tennant

Senior Designer
mtennant@desmone.com

Jeff Michelson

Designer
jmichelson@desmone.com

Aaron Kulik

Designer
akulik@desmone.com

PRERANA PALIWAL

Designer
ppaliwal@desmone.com

Troy Barney

Designer
tbarney@desmone.com

Jared Korchok

Designer
jkorchok@desmone.com

Katie Yatzkanic

Designer
kyatzkanic@desmone.com

Ryan Croyle

Designer
rcroyle@desmone.com

Andre Clarke

Architect
aclarke@desmone.com

Abbey Burton

Designer
aburton@desmone.com

Meghann Gregory

Designer
mgregory@desmone.com

ABHISHEK BODKAY

Designer
abodkay@desmone.com

Lori Kreke

Interior Designer
lkreke@desmone.com

Shelby Weber

Designer
sweber@desmone.com

Chelsea Constantino

Designer
cconstantino@desmone.com

Warren Blackmon

Designer
wblackmon@desmone.com

Megan Watson

Designer
mwatson@desmone.com

John-Edward Porter

Designer
jporter@desmone.com

Samantha Bonnett

Designer
sbonnett@desmone.com

Travis Howard

Architectural Intern
thoward@desmone.com

Katelyn Stuewe

Architectural Intern
kstuewe@desmone.com

Kelsey Lewis

Interior Design Intern
klewis@desmone.com

Marketing & Administration

Jim Ambrose

Director of Business Development
jambrose@desmone.com

Abby Spriggs

Marketing Coordinator
aspriggs@desmone.com

Laura Luksik

Financial Assistant
lluksik@desmone.com

Tiffany DePasquale

Administrative Assistant
tdepasquale@desmone.com
internship

We make decisions – with our clients – based on the best available information from credible research and evaluation of projects.

Some of Our Clients

We are fortunate to get to work with some great companies.

Awards

2015 Metal Architecture Design Award - Metal Building
Wendell August

2015 Best of Act 2 Award - Tech Savvy - PA Brownfields Conference
Carnegie Robotics

2015 NAIOP Award for Best Renovation - Industrial
Carnegie Robotics

2015 A.R.E. Design Award for Hardline Specialty Store 3001-7500 SF
Wendell August

2014 DBIA National Award of Excellence
Wendell August

2014 AIA Certificate of Merit Award for Interior Architecture
Andy Warhol Museum Renovation

Best Places to Work by Pittsburgh Business Times
Years Won: 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015

2011 AIA Pittsburgh
People’s Choice for SAVOY

2010 NAIOP Pittsburgh Award for "Best Renovation Project"
615 Alpha Drive

Pittsburgh Magazine The Best of 2009
Best Architect

2008 North American Copper in Architecture Awards
Honorable Mention for Copper Falls

American Builders & Contractors (ABC) 2008 Construction Industry Award
Architect/Engineer of the Year

2007 Pennsylvania Historic Preservation Awards
Brewers Row

2007 Master Builders Association Building Excellence Award
Best Project under $5 Million

2007 Western Pennsylvania Golden Trowel Awards
Best in Category – Residential for Copper Falls

2006 AIA Pittsburgh
Certificate of Merit for David Johnson Memorial Chapel

2005 ABC Award of Merit
Superior Automotive

2004 ABC Award of Merit
Guardian Self Storage Old Freeport Rd, New Community Church Phase 1

2001 ABC Award of Merit
Guardian Self Storage